Album Review: Lynch Mob, The Brotherhood

By: Stephanie Stevens

LYNCH MOB has returned with the band’s fifth, full length studio album and 8th overall music adventure in THE BROTHERHOOD. After 27 years of music making, you might think the well would be dry. It seems George Lynch, Oni Logan, Sean Mcnabb and Jimmy D’anda, all haven’t lost that sense of creativeness, with one listen to THE BROTHERHOOD. The overall vibe of the album brings a colder, darker, grittier and bluesy hard rock blend to it.

“WHERE WE STARTED,” is where it started for me, this song is groovy, electrifying, sexy and just a melody driven masterpiece.  “I’LL TAKE MIAMI” and “LAST CALL LADY” are airy, melodic and rocking; the two tracks show a different side of the band, on this disc, because of their uplifting sound, which is refreshing. “UNTIL THE SKY COMES DOWN” brings me back to the old Dokken feel of the 80’s, especially the intro to the track. The vocal strategy, to me, changes up a bit which is fun to listen to, because you can see the different formats he can sing in. Lynch and Logan together are a force to be reckoned with. It is great to see them still doing music, and making some killer songs. “BLACK MOUNTAIN” has a bluesy rock style, a little grunge, and a whole lot of seductive charisma shining through this track. “MILES AWAY” brings out the ballad, and melody driven force of the band. The band has done a few videos already; “MAIN OFFENDER” was one of them, which delivers the heavy guitar riffs, in this opening track, with Logan’s solid clean hitting, rock ‘n’ roll voice. Then we have the other track, “MR. JEKYLL AND HYDE,” which fills your ears with groove, and sassy rhythm, along with the soul and gritty vocals, that have been Logan’s persona since the early 90’s.

All in all, THE BROTHERHOOD shows the bond that these 4 guys have built, in their time together in LYNCH MOB. The fans won’t be disappointed; with the signature Lynch solos and riffs, the passionate and prominent vocal patterns, and the sassy and infectious Rhythms section.

The album, is not without old school sound of LYNCH MOB, but also a  layering of it, with elements of darker, explorative atmospheric and energizing sounds.

Track Listing:
01. Main Offender
02. Mr. Jekyll And Hyde
03. I’ll Take Miami
04. Last Call Lady
05. Where We Started
06. The Forgotten Maiden’s Pearl
07. Until the Sky Comes Down
08. Black Heart Days
09. Black Mountain
10. Dog Town Mystics
11. Miles Away
12. Until I Get My Gold (bonus track)

Follow Lynch Mob on their social media links:

Website | Facebook | Twitter

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

x Close

Like us on Facebook!