Experimental Sludge Group SORXE Reveals Crushing New Track “Distraction Party”

Phoenix, AZ-based experimental sludge/post metal band SORXE are set to release their substantially heavy, widely atmospheric new album, Matter & Void, on November 24 via Prosthetic Records. The album was recorded, mixed and co-produced by Matt Bayles (Russian Circles, Botch, Isis), and will be available via CD, limited edition violet and black swirl LP and all digital outlets. Pre-orders are available now here: http://smarturl.it/Sorxe
Today, SORXE have revealed another crushing new track, entitled “Distraction Party” (the first being the droning punisher, “Hypnotizer”), showcasing their unique, roaring two-bassist attack. Take a listen now via Loudwirehttp://loudwire.com/sorxe-distraction-party-exclusive-song-premiere/
Guitarist, vocalist and synth player Tanner Crace says: “‘Distraction Party’ is one of our favorite songs to play live as it’s a little more up-tempo and different than our other songs. It was one of those songs that just came together so fast and everything kind of locked into place within a few hours! Lyrically it ties into some of the other themes on the album, about an internal struggle with oneself. The absurd struggle with getting older and still maintaining a twenty-year-old’s party lifestyle verses challenging your energy towards more productive efforts. It’s a daily balancing act to stay sane in this world.”
Drummer and backing vocalist Shane Ocell adds, “In many ways as I feel like we stepped out of “our norm” for a bit on this track, then it pummels and has feeling. The intro builds then twists and turns you along the way telling the story. The ending to me is like a heart beating towards the end of life (bass drum/feedback/bass) then it wakes up and gives you another chance.”
SORXE rely heavily on improvisation, pulling ideas from an eclectic well of inspiration ranging from Neurosis, Swans, Melvins and Pink FloydSORXE consists of guitarist/vocalist Tanner Crace, drummer Shane Ocell, and two bassists – Christopher Coons and Jonathan Portnoy, who tread new psychedelic ground into the unknown.
SORXE was formed in 2012 when Crace and Ocell decided to get together and jam and instantly hit it off. They quickly pieced together the beginnings of their first few songs, and realizing the potential, they recruited two bassists to bring the thunderous layers of low-end evident on Matter & Void. The band has shared the stage with many amazing bands including and not limited to Helms Alee, Torche, Truck Fighters, A Storm of Light, Kvelertak, Black Tusk, Yob and Neurosis.
Matter & Void track listing:
1. Hypnotizer
2. Distraction Party
3. Never To See
4. Black Water
5. Eastern Transmission
6. The Endless Chasm
Shane Ocell – Drums, Backing Vocals
Tanner Crace – Guitar, Vox, Synth
Christopher Coons – Bass, Lap Steel, Backing Vox
Jonathan Portnoy – Bass, Guitar
SORXE online:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

x Close

Like us on Facebook!