HOWLING SYCAMORE, Featuring Davide Tiso, Jason McMaster, and Hannes Grossmann, Reveal New Track “Let Fall”

HOWLING SYCAMORE, Featuring Davide Tiso, Jason McMaster, and Hannes Grossmann, Reveal New Track “Let Fall”
Listen Now via MetalSucks
Self-Titled Album out January 26, 2018 | Pre-Order Here
Multi-talented guitarist and producer, Davide Tiso (Ephel Duath, Gospel of the Witches), recently announced the formation of his new extreme progressive metal outfit, HOWLING SYCAMORE. The band features the seasoned talents of Watchtower and Dangerous Toyssinger, Jason McMaster, and drumming sensation Hannes Grossmann (Necrophagist, Obscura). The album also features special guest performances by Bruce Lamont (Yakuza, Brain Tentacles) on baritone saxophone, plus Kevin Hufnagel (Dysrhythmia, Gorguts) and Fester (Burials, Humorous) on guitars.
HOWLING SYCAMORE will release their self-titled, stunning, avant-garde extreme progressive metal album via Prosthetic Records on January 26, 2018. Pre-orders for the album in digital, compact disc and limited edition silver vinyl LP formats are available here:
Following up on the release of their first single, “Upended”, HOWLING SYCAMORE are pleased to reveal a second new track, entitled “Let Fall”. The massive new track can be streamed now via MetalSucks
Davide Tiso says: “‘Let Fall’ is a song of opposites. While groovy melodies pull you up at first, the bleak, introspective lyrics come in to drag you down after. In the heart of the song, during a Tony Iommi-infused riff, the Sycamore tree is summoned with prayer-like singing, referencing it loud and clear as the guide-like entity that it is for the concept of the band itself. With Jason McMaster crying out my painful awareness of not really fitting in anywhere, it becomes, to me, one of the most intense and dramatic moments of the whole album. Then again, the groovy melody comes in to lift your mood back up to where you started.”
Howling Sycamore track listing:
  1. Upended
  2. Obstinate Pace
  3. Let Fall
  4. Intermezzo
  5. Midway
  6. Chant of Stillness
  7. Descent to Light
  8. Dysphoria
Tiso was always fascinated by the symbolism of the sycamore tree, which has special significance in Egyptian religion and that “bridged the world of the dead and the living” in David Lynch’s cult TV series. Visually, the sycamore is particularly striking in winter when it gains a ghost like appeal: the bark turns white and it reflects the moonlight in otherworldly ways, bearing not only mystery but also a certain component of solitude and pain. These were the inspirations for Tiso as he assembled his extreme, progressive ensemble, HOWLING SYCAMORE.
HOWLING SYCAMORE was born from the stubborn idea of melting together different styles of heavy music into something powerful, sincere and with a strong identity”, elaborates Tiso. “I wanted to mix extreme metal drumming, layered down-tuned guitars and old school prog metal singing. I’m so grateful that these amazing musicians helped shape the album into the beautiful weirdness that it became.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

x Close

Like us on Facebook!